Conversations from the departure lounge

DSC_0061

Episode 1 – McGregor Retires

– That fella, Conor O’Leary, is going to retire.

– No, no, that’s not him. Conor O’Leary’s the fella with the airplanes.

– I heard he’s going off to Iceland for a bath.

– Sure can’t he have a bath at home?

– Jaysus no. They’re special ones with volcano water and seaweed.

– Probably has them fecking scented candles an’ all. Since that pound shop opened my wan has the house destroyed with ‘em.

– Hang on now, Conor O’Brien is the man.

– No no no, Conor O’Brien is the horse trainer, sure wasn’t I down at the place he has below in Tipperary.

– Well. What’s his name so?

– Conor McGuigan

– Ah that’s the man, so it is. The Notorious Cyclone isn’t that him?

–  ‘Tis, that’s him. I stayed up one night to watch the fight with Jose Carreras. Waste of time it was. I bent down to get my glasses and ‘twas all over when I had them on.

– What happened?

– I don’t know, McGuigan was straddling the cage waving at the crowd, I couldn’t make head nor tail of it so off I went to bed.

– Is that what twittering is?

– No, no, Twittering is sending messages on the line.

– Oh, sure of course it is.

– A fine cut of a fella.

– Oh he is.

– C’mere

– Wha?

– ‘Tis your round.

 

Leave a comment